Articles worth reading
Presbyterian University at Kwahu

Presbyterian University at Kwahu

access_time March 13, 2017

The Presbyterian University College is a private university located at Abetifi-Kwahu in the Eastern Region of Ghana. It is one of the new universities...

Avacado & Crab

Avacado & Crab

access_time March 14, 2017

AVACADO & CRAB Method Mix together the lemon juice and the seasoning. Peel and remove the pitts from the avocado and mash the flesh with the le...

Did you know that?

access_time March 14, 2017

Ghana is named after the medieval Ghana Empire of West Africa. The actual name of the Empire was Wagadugu; Ghana was the title of the kings who ruled ...

Central University College

Central University College

Central University College

access_time March 13, 2017 chat_bubble_outline 0 comments
shareShare this post

The Central University College was founded by the International Central Gospel Church (ICGC) in Ghana. It started off as a pastoral training institute in 1988. It was then known as the Central Bible College by June 1991. It later became the Central Christian College in 1993 and eventually became the Central University College in 1997. Among the stated aims of the university is to provide an “integrated and biblically-based tertiary education with particular reference to the needs of the African continent”. It is currently the biggest private university in Ghana.


1988 – Birth of Central Bible College

1993 – Became Christian University College

1997- Changed name to Central University College (CUC)

Central University College (CUC) is the first privately owned University colleges in Ghana. Owned by the International Central Gospel Church, its founder and Chancellor, Rev. Dr. Mensa Otabil has within the last two decades, emerged as a leading voice in African Christianity advocating for a proper synthesis of Christian religious expression and the translation of spirituality into practical everyday action. The Idea of CUC was birthed in 1988.

CUC started as a short-term pastoral training institute mainly for pastors of ICGC. It became a Christian University College in 1993 expanding its programs over the years to include the academic study of Christian Theology, Business Administration, Economics, Computer Science and a select number of modern languages including French. Most of its current programs are offered up to the graduate level and has seen the establishment of the schools of architecture and pharmacy in the 2008/2009 academic year. In 1998, the University College was accredited by the [3] (NAB). A Ghanaian newspaper feature on CUC that appeared in The Spectator of Saturday October 16 2007 described CUC as “a University college in a class of its own”. The Valley View University of the Seventh Day Adventist Church was established before CUC but the latter was the first private University to run a weekend school that affords workers the flexibility of combining work and study in their desire to improve their education.

READ ALSO:   Cocoa

Ten (10) years down the line, CUC’s development has been phenomenal with the construction of a permanent campus in Miotso, near Dahwenya. On October 26, 2007 CUC relocated a greater part of its campus from the heart of Accra, the capital to Miotso a community near Dawhenya in the Greater Accra Region.

The University’s first Registrar Mr. Johnson Kanda was the first employee of the University who drafted and put together almost all the documentation needed for the University he served a period of 10yrs between 1998 and 2008.

The University’s chancellor Rev. Dr. Mensa Otabil is the Head Pastor of the International Central Gospel Church (ICGC) The University’s current President V. P. Y. Gadzekpo, FGA has been president since 15th September 2004 till present he took over from Rev. Prof. Kingsley Larbi who was the principal of Central Christian College, Ghana. His distinguished pioneering efforts at the then Central Christian College led to the establishment of Central University College, Ghana, where he served as its first President/Vice Chancellor from November 1998 until July 2003.

READ ALSO:   Sharon Siriboe


The University has five schools

School of Theology and Missions

The oldest of the schools, it was started in 1988 as a pastoral training institute thus predating the university.

* Department of Biblical and Theological Studies
* Department of Historical Theology
* Department of Practical Theology

 School of Business Management and Administration

This school was established in 1997.

* Department of Accounting and Finance
* Department of Management
* Department of Social Studies
* Centre for Information Technology
* Centre for Modern Languages

School of Applied Sciences

This is located on the Dawhenya campus.

* Department of Architecture
* Department of Civil Engineering
* Department of Natural Sciences
* Department of Nursing Studies and Practice
* Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences
* Department of Physician Assistantship Studies

Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences

This is the newest of the schools. It is located on the Dawhenya campus.  It was established in October 2006)

* Department of Communication Studies
* Department of Environment and Development Studies

 Graduate School of Business

* Master of Business Administration Master of Business Administration programme with a duration of 18 calendar months. Designed to provide an intensive quality post-graduate education in business and management within a supportive collaborative environment. An intensive foreign language training programme (French and Chinese) as well as a Personal Professional Development Programme of study is taught.


The University occupies the following campus locations

Miotso (permanent campus)

This comprises an expanding number of structures on the 248-acre plot of land. It houses the new ‘face’ of CUC. Miotso is 58.2km away from Central Accra. This permanent campus accommodates the School of Business Management and Administration (SBMA) and the School of Applied Sciences (SAS). Also the administration section of the University College is also located here.

READ ALSO:   Some Ghanaian Ensembles

Mataheko Campus

The Mataheko campus is located in the heart of Accra near Kaneshie. The University has four (4) campuses located within the Mataheko area for lecture halls and administrative offices. These campuses serve also the School of Business Management and Administration and the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences.

 Dansoman Campus

The School of Theology and Missions is housed here.

Christ Temple & National Insurance Commission – Graduate School Campuses

These campuses house the Graduate School of Business which runs the Master of Business Administration programme with duration of eighteen calendar months. Designed to provide an intensive quality post-graduate education in business and management within a supportive collaborative environment.


* University of Cape Coast, Cape Coast
* Council for Christian Colleges and Universities, USA
* Association of African Universities


Central University College is a member of the Association of African Universities (AAU))

Students Union

Central University College’s Student Representative Council operates mainly from the Mataheko campus. The various class representatives serve as contacts on the various campuses.

List of chancellors

* Rev. Dr. Mensa Otabil (1997-present)

List of Vice Chancellors/Presidents

* Rev. Prof. Kingsley Larbi – 1998 to 2003

List of presidents

* Prof. V.P. Y. Gadzekpo FGA 2004- Present

 List of registrars

* Mr. Johnson Kanda (1998-2008)
* Mr. J. F. Odartey Blankson (2009-Present)

shareShare this post
folder_openAssigned tags
content_copyCategorized under

No Comments

comment No comments yet

You can be first to leave a comment

Submit an answer


Your data will be safe!

Your e-mail address will not be published. Also other data will not be shared with third person.